What I Will Do To Make Corruption Unattractive – Tinubu


President-elect Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has said his administration will put incentives and policies in place that will make corruption unattractive for judges and other Nigerian workers.

A statement by the Office of the President-elect signed by Abdulaziz Abdulaziz quoted Tinubu as making the pledge on Thursday in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, during the inauguration of Magistrate Courts Complex. 

Tinubu said with the right incentives that guarantee conducive working atmosphere and polices that make it easy for workers to acquire credit facilities for essential needs the temptation for corruption would reduce. 

”If you don’t want your judges to be corrupt you got to pay attention to their welfare. You don’t want them to operate in hazardous conditions,” he said. 

“If you have consumer credit that will reduce the propensity for corruption. We don’t want our judges to play foul, to compromise justice. I promise we are going to review all of these in a policy think tank.” 

“The unity of this country is not negotiable. That is what Wike and I are promoting jointly. I promise I will be fair to all.”

Earlier, Governor Wike said the complex contained 24 courtrooms, offices and other facilities meant to decongest the state high court complex and expand access to justice.

He said his administration consider welfare of judges and condition of courts essential for speedy justice dispensation.

Wike charged the state Judiciary to ensure proper maintenance of the edifice for which financial provision had been made.

He onc again thanked the President-elect for accepting to visit the state and commission the projects.

The ceremony was attended by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila as well as Governors Muhammad Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa), David Umahi (Ebonyi), Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq (Kwara) and Dapo Abiodun (Ogun). 

Also present were former governors Chief Bisi Akande (Osun), James Ibori (Delta), Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Adams Oshiomhole (Edo) and Ayo Fayose (Ekiti). Others were members of the National Assembly, Minister of Sports and Youth Development, Sunday Dare, a former Attorney General of the Federation (AGF), Mohammed Bello Adoke, SAN, National Women Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Dr Betta Edu, Chief Ayiri Emami, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here