Buhari Approves Tenure Renewal For Directors-General Of LACON, NCC, Appoints ACJMC Secretary


The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency, Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, has approved the renewal of tenures of Aliyu Bagudu Abubakar, Esq. and Mr. John Ohireime Asein as Directors General of the Legal Aid Council of Nigeria (LACON) and the Nigerian Copyright Commission respectively.

This was contained in a statement issued on Sunday by the Director, press and Public Relation, Federal Ministry of Justice, Mrs Modupe Ogundoro, and made available to journalists in Abuja.

The statement stated that Mr Aliyu Bagudu Abubakar’s appointment, which was renewed for a second and final tenure of four (4) years, was conveyed vide letter Ref: PRES/97/HAGF/174 of 12th January, 2023 in line with Section 3 (1) and (2) of the Legal Aid Act, CAP. L9.

Ogundoro added that Mr. John Ohireime Asein’s appointment was similarly renewed for a second and final tenure of four (4) years and conveyed vide letter Ref: PRES/97/HAGF/175 of 12th January, 2023 in line with Section 36 (1) and (2) of the Nigerian Copyright Commission Act, CAP C28.

In a related development, President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, also approved the appointment of Mr. Abiodun Ayodeji Aikomo, CFE, as Secretary of the Administration of Criminal Justice Monitoring Committee (ACJMC) for an initial period of four (4) years in line with Section 471 (2) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act (ACJA) 2015 vide letter Ref: PRES/97/HAGF/173.

In separate congratulatory letters issued on 13th January, 2023 and signed by the Solicitor General of the Federation and Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Justice (SGF/PS), Mrs. B.E. Jedy-Agba OON, mni, she stated that the renewal of appointments of the two Directors-General took effect from 12th January, 2023 and that their emoluments and other conditions of service were provided under the Certain Political Office Holders (Salaries and Allowances, etc) (Amendment) Act 2008.

Jedy-Agba further stated that the renewal of appointment of the duo was predicated on the laudable achievements recorded by the various agencies during their first tenures.

She urged them to use their second tenures to consolidate and move the agencies to the next level.

However, the Congratulatory letter issued to Mr. Aikomo stated that his appointment took effect from 16th January, 2023 and that the appointment was in consideration of the President’s confidence in Mr. Aikomo’s ability to perform and live up to the challenges of his office.

The SGF/PS extended her best wishes to the trios in the discharge of the onerous responsibilities saddled on them.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here